Activated Charcoal Face Mask

The rise of charcoal as an everyday beauty product has caught my attention over the last few months due to its ability to bind to dirt and impurities in the skin, allowing them to be washed away. My days are long and my makeup has to do a lot of work, so by the time I wash my face before bed, my pores are begging to be cleansed and rejuvenated.  I’ve tried a few store-bought charcoal masks but found that most of them burned my eyes and dried out my skin. After some research, I realized that this was due more to the additional ingredients in the masks than the charcoal itself. So I decided to make my own.

This mask requires only three ingredients and all of them can be found at Walmart and most drug stores. Here’s what you’ll need:

  1. Activated charcoal capsules
  2. Baking soda
  3. Organic coconut oil

Walgreens had charcoal capsules for about $20 but I wanted to do better than that. I was able to find them at Walmart for just under $5, making this mask super affordable.

To Make

Soften 1/2 a cup of coconut oil in the microwave in a glass bowl. You don’t necessarily want it to melt, just to be soft enough to mix easily. Mine took only about 7 seconds.

Add 4 capsules of activated charcoal and 1 tablespoon of baking soda to the coconut oil and mix well. Put in airtight container for storage.

16736287_10210730589414588_622686687_n

To Use

Apply a thin layer to your clean face, avoiding eyes and mouth. I use a foundation brush to apply other masks and found it to work really well for this one as well. Coconut oil melts at a pretty low temperature so be sure not to apply the mask too thick; the last thing you want is coconut oil and charcoal dripping into your eyes or on your clothes!

Allow to sit for 10-15 minutes and then lightly rub into skin before washing off with warm water and a gentle facial cleanser.

What I love about this is how clean and moisturized my skin feels after I use it! The baking soda is the perfect addition to this mask for its gentle exfoliation and its ability to brighten skin and even out redness. I use this mask 1-2 times a week, or when I feel like my pores need an extra deep cleaning.

Author:

Daughter. Sister. Yogini. Proud parent of plant babies. Crafter. Photographer. Lover of dancing and singing loudly. Avid reader. Daydreamer. Southern cook.

Leave a Reply

