Essential Oil Soy Candles

If you’re like me, you can find a candle in about every corner and on every shelf in your house. But candles can be expensive and I tend to be picky about what chemicals and substances I burn into the air in my house. Not too long ago I decided to take on making my own candles using 100% natural fragrances. I was pleasantly surprised to find the process wasn’t all that difficult and the candles smell incredible. And I love knowing exactly what I’m breathing in.
I made two different scents this time around. For this process I used the following:
-Soy wax flakes (I used 1 pound and was able to make 2 decent sized candles)
-Wood wicks and holders
-Organic Lavender essential oil
-Organic Bergamot essential oil
-Dried Lavender flowers (optional)
-Glass mason jars
-Glue gun and sticks
-Any glass container will do, I just prefer the look of a mason jars.

  1. Measure two wood wicks to fit your container and trim. You want to leave about half an inch exposed above the wax. The first time I made these, I made the mistake of trying to trim after the candle set up. This would be possible with a cotton with, but not with a wood wick.
  2.  Insert wicks into their holder and glue to the bottom of the jar with the hot glue to keep in place.
  3. Fill the bottom of a saucepan with water and place a stainless steel bowl over the pan. Bring to a slow boil. You can use a double boiler for this process, but I was afraid the wax would ruin mine.
  4. Slowly melt the wax, stirring occasionally.
  5. Carefully pour wax into your containers and add your essential oils. I prefer a stronger smelling candle, so for a pint sized jar I used about 45 drops of oil.
  6. Set aside and allow to cool.

1

I forgot to grab a picture after the wax set up, but it dried to a nice soft white color. The lavender candle has been a perfect way to wind down at the end of the day and the citrusy scent of the bergamot is perfect for the kitchen!

Notes:

  • If you want to add dried flowers, mix them in with the wax before you pour it into your container. They will mostly float to the top, but the candle will still burn well.
  • You can use a cotton wick in place of a wood wick. I just prefer the nice crackling and earthy smell of wood.
  • I use two wood wicks per candle. It seems to burn much smoother and hold a flame better this way.
Author:

Daughter. Sister. Yogini. Proud parent of plant babies. Crafter. Photographer. Lover of dancing and singing loudly. Avid reader. Daydreamer. Southern cook.

Leave a Reply

