Blueberry Lemon Bread

It’s the middle of February and while it has been a particularly mild winter, the skies are still dreary and the trees are still all dead. I typically consider myself to be more of a Winter person, but this week I found myself craving warm weather and Summer flavors. I couldn’t change the temperatures so I made my way to the kitchen to make one of my favorite Summer treats; Blueberry Lemon bread.

This recipe is by far the best I have ever had. I took it to a photo exhibition that I was attending and it was a hit. I had to scramble just to get a piece of it for myself. The best part though is how easy it is and how many of the ingredients I already had in my pantry. Here’s the recipe:

Easy Blueberry Lemon Bread with Lemon Glaze

5

serves : 11
prep time: 20 minutes
cook time: 60 minutes
total time: 1 hour 20 minutes

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of all purpose flour + 1 tablespoon
  • 2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 cup of oil (coconut, vegetable, or canola work well)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup plain greek yogurt
  • zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 cup blueberries plus garnish
  • 3/4 cup confectioners sugar
  • 1-2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • butter

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Coat a 9×5 loaf pan with butter and dust with flour and set aside.
  2. In a small bowl, toss the blueberries with 1 tablespoon of flour and set aside. This will keep the blueberries from sinking to the bottom of your bread, creating a more even distribution
  3. In a large bowl, whisk together 2 cups of flour, 2 teaspoons of baking powder and 1/2 a teaspoon of salt. Set aside.
  4. In another bowl, mix together oil, vanilla, eggs, sugar, greek yogurt, lemon zest and lemon juice.
  5. Combine your wet and dry ingredients, just until smooth, being careful not to over-mix. Over-mixing will cause your bread to become dense and tough.
  6. Lightly fold in blueberries.
  7. Pour your batter into your prepared baking pan. Bake for 50-60 minutes, just until a wooden toothpick comes out clean. You may need to cover lightly with aluminum foil for the last 10-15 minutes to prevent the top from becoming too brown.
  8. Allow your bread to cool for about 10 minutes in the loaf pan before transferring it to a cooling rack to cool completely.
  9. Once your bread is cool, whisk together your confectioners sugar and fresh lemon juice. I like to start with 1 tablespoon and add the second as I need it. Sometimes it may require up to 1 additional tablespoon of lemon juice. You want your glaze to be thin enough to drizzle of your bread while still being thick enough to set up as it dries.
  10. Drizzle with spoon over your bread and allow to harden for 15-20 minutes. Garnish with blueberries.

6

If I plan to take my bread to an event or party, I like to slice it before I drizzle and garnish. I will also remove the two end pieces. It means I have two fewer servings, but it makes it a little prettier.

I hope you enjoy this treat as much as I do!

Author:

Daughter. Sister. Yogini. Proud parent of plant babies. Crafter. Photographer. Lover of dancing and singing loudly. Avid reader. Daydreamer. Southern cook.

Leave a Reply

